<source id="3oodw" ><sup id="3oodw" ></sup></source>

      1. <s id="3oodw" ><th id="3oodw" ><small id="3oodw" ></small></th></s>
        <i id="3oodw" ><optgroup id="3oodw" ></optgroup></i>

            <input id="3oodw" ><bdo id="3oodw" ><cite id="3oodw" ></cite></bdo></input>
            <delect id="3oodw" ><ruby id="3oodw" ></ruby></delect>

            <em id="3oodw" ><progress id="3oodw" ></progress></em><input id="3oodw" ></input>
            <strike id="3oodw" ></strike>
            520彩票 » Texting While Driving Laws & Penalties (50 States)

            Texting While Driving Laws & Penalties (50 States)

             In Trucking Blog

            There are few things more frustrating than glancing at the driver beside you, only to find their eyes glued to their lap with one hand on the wheel, unfocused on the road. What’s worse is if that driver is in a massive, 18-wheeler semi-truck.

            Distracted driving is six times more likely to cause an accident than driving drunk, and 1 in every 4 accidents was caused due to texting. Teens are more likely to be involved in a fatal accident than adults because they are also more likely to be on their phone.

            Accidents caused by truck drivers on their phones accounts for 15% of all traffic accidents in the United States. Distracted driving, aka cell phone usage while behind the wheel, has become such a prevalent issue that all states have had to pass laws discouraging the use of phones, and encouraging safer driving.

            Any commercial driver caught texting and driving can suffer a fine up to $10,000 or more, and the carrier employing the driver can face an additional fines as well. Along with the fine comes a 10-point violation on the driver’s CDL record. Depending on what state you live in, that many points could cause your license to be suspended.

            What exactly is “Texting”? According to the FMCSA

            “Texting means manually entering text into, or reading text from, an electronic device.

            Texting includes (but is not limited to), short message services, e-mailing, instant messaging, a command or request to access a Web page, pressing more than a single button to initiate or terminate a call using a mobile telephone, or engaging in any other form of electronic text retrieval or entry, for present or future communication.”

            50 States Law & Penalty Information

            This is a rapidly changing information set. Be sure to reference your local government website for the most current information.

            Alabama
            Law: Alabama bans all cell phone usage for novice (defined as ages 16-17 with an intermediate license less than 6 months) drivers, and bans texting for all drivers.
            Penalty: $25 and 2 points

            Alaska
            Law: Alaska bans texting for all drivers
            Penalty: $10,000 fine and one year in prison

            Arizona
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for school bus drivers. No laws in effect at this time
            Penalty: N/A

            Arkansas
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers age 18-20 years old, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (Novice drivers are any drivers under age 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $100 fine and 10 days in prison

            California
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers of all ages, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (drivers under the age of 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $20 fine

            Colorado
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (drivers under the age of 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages
            Penalty: $50 fine

            Connecticut
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers of all ages, Ban on all cell phone use for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers, Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $100 fine

            Delaware
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers of all ages, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (novice drivers are defined as those with learner permits or intermediate license), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $50 fine

            District of Columbia
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers of all ages, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (novice is defined as anyone with a learner’s permit), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $100 fine

            Florida
            Law: Ban on texting for all ages
            Penalty: N/A

            Georgia
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (all drivers under age 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $150 fine

            Hawaii
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers of all ages, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers, Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: N/A

            Idaho
            Law: Ban on texting for drivers of all ages, Idaho has a “Distraction in/on Vehicle (List)” attribute as part of its Contributing Circumstances element, and officers are supposed to list the distractions.
            Penalty: $81.50 fine
            Illinois
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (drivers under age 19),Ban on texting for drivers of all ages, bans the use of cellphones while driving in a school zone or in a highway construction zone, Handheld ban for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $75 fine

            Indiana
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (drivers under age 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $35.50 fine

            Iowa
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (all drivers with restricted or intermediate licenses), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $30 fine

            Kansas
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (anyone with learner’s permit or intermediate license), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $60 fine

            Kentucky
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers(under age 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $25 fine plus surcharge fee

            Louisiana
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers with a learner’s permit or intermediate license regardless of age, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (drivers under 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages (Primary law).
            Penalty: $175 fine

            Maine
            Law: Maine has passed a law making it against the law to drive while distracted in the state.
            Penalty: $250-$500 fine

            Maryland
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers of all ages, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (under age 18 with learner’s permit or provisional license), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $500 fine

            Massachusetts
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (up to age 18 with a learner’s permit or provisional license), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $100 fine

            Michigan
            Law: Ban on texting for drivers of all ages, teens with probationary licenses whose cell phone usage contributes to a traffic crash or ticket may not use a cell phone while driving, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers.
            Penalty: $100 fine

            Minnesota
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers(under age 18 with a learner’s permit or provisional license), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $135 fine

            Mississippi
            Law: Went into effect in July 2015, Ban on texting for all drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers.
            Penalty: $500 fine

            Missouri
            Law: Ban on texting for any drivers 21 and under.
            Penalty: $20.50 for drivers 21 and under

            Montana
            Law: No current ban
            Penalty: N/A

            Nebraska
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (under age 18 with learner’s permit or provisional license), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages
            Penalty: $200 fine.

            Nevada
            Law: Handheld and texting ban for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $50 fine

            New Hampshire
            Law: Effective as of 2015, handheld ban for drivers of all ages, ban on all cell phone usage for novice drivers (drivers 18 and under), New Hampshire enacted a comprehensive distracted driving law into effect.
            Penalty: $100 fine

            New Jersey
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers of all ages, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (drivers 21 and under with learners permit or provisional license), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $100 fine

            New Mexico
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers with in-state vehicles, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers, Ban on texting for drivers of all ages
            Penalty: $25 fine.

            New York
            Law: Handheld ban and texting ban for all drivers.
            Penalty: $235 fine

            North Carolina
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (all drivers under age 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $100 fine plus surcharge fee

            North Dakota
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (all drivers through age 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $100 fine

            Ohio
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers, Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $150 fine

            Oklahoma
            Law: Ban on texting for drivers of all ages, ban on cellphone usage for all age drivers with learner permits.
            Penalty: $100 fine

            Oregon
            Law: Handheld ban for drivers of all ages, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (drivers through age 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $250 fine

            Pennsylvania
            Law: Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $50 fine

            Rhode Island
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (all drivers under age 18), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages..
            Penalty: $85 fine

            South Carolina
            Law: Ban on texting
            Penalty: N/A

            South Dakota
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers, Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: N/A

            Tennessee
            Law: Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for bus drivers, Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers (any driver with a learner’s permit or intermediate license), Ban on texting for drivers of all ages.
            Penalty: $50 fine

            Texas
            Law: Ban on all cell phones for bus drivers (anyone driving people 17 an under) and novice drivers (anyone driving less than 12 months), ban on texting for bus drivers, novice drivers, and anyone in a school zone.
            Penalty: $200-$500 depending on city

            Utah
            Law: Ban on texting for drivers of all ages, Utah’s law defines careless driving as committing a moving violation (other than speeding) while distracted by use of a handheld cell phone or other activities not related to driving, Ban on all cell phone use for novice drivers.
            Penalty: $750 plus 90 days in prison

            Vermont
            Law: Ban on all cell phone usage for drivers under 18, ban on texting for all drivers.
            Penalty: $156 fine

            Virginia
            Law: Ban on cell phone use for bus drivers and novice drivers (under age 18), ban on texting for all drivers.
            Penalty: $20 fine

            Washington
            Law: Handheld phone and texting ban for all drivers, ban on all cell phones for novice drivers (learner’s permit or intermediate).
            Penalty: $124 fine

            West Virginia
            Law: For all drivers, there is a ban on handheld devices and texting, for novice drivers (learner’s permit or intermediate license).
            Penalty: $100 fine

            Wisconsin
            Law: Complete ban on texting for all drivers, ban on cell phone use for novice drivers.
            Penalty: $20-$400 fine

            Wyoming
            Law: Ban on texting for all drivers, ban on cell phone usage for novice drivers.
            Penalty: $75 fine

            The increase in texting while driving laws in general increases the need for safe truckers. It’s more important than ever to look for a high-quality CDL training program that will make sure you are well-versed in the latest federal and state safety standards.

            Reference:

            Leave a Comment

            prevent back pain graphicgi bill CDL training american flag 520彩票_520彩票网_520彩票官网 Disclaimer: This website's materials and pictures are sourced from Internet articles. This website does not bear any claims and legal liabilities caused by content information. The copyright of all works belongs to the original author, and has nothing to do with this previous field. If users accidentally infringe your rights and interests, please contact us and we will delete it!

            <option id="lrq7b" ><sup id="lrq7b" ></sup></option>
            <noscript id="lrq7b" ><nobr id="lrq7b" ><label id="lrq7b" ></label></nobr></noscript>
            1. <em id="lrq7b" ></em>
              <div id="lrq7b" ><optgroup id="lrq7b" ></optgroup></div>
              <dfn id="lrq7b" ></dfn>

                <u id="lrq7b" ></u>